Home | Public Notices | AUF back in power in Anguilla as AUM is rejected at the polls

AUF back in power in Anguilla as AUM is rejected at the polls

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

A new era for Anguilla, with three women elected to the House of Assembly, including two Lawyers.

(The Valley, Anguilla) - Many supporters of the Anguilla United Front are today ecstatic as the party led by veteran politician Victor Banks won an overwhelming majority at the polls on Wednesday, April 22nd, 2015. Voters stood in lines for hours to cast their ballots in the seven districts. Many, as is their right, had returned home from overseas to join their family members and neighbours in freely casting the X that would see all of the members of the the incumbent Anguilla United Movement government lose their seats and for the first time in the history of the island, see three women voted into the House of Assembly.

In District 1, Attorney Palmavon Webster (460 votes), won the hotly contested district of Island Harbour, defeating the incumbent AUF parliamentarian Othlyn Vanterpool (434) and denying the new comer, new leader of the AUM, Dr. Ellis L Webster (412). 

In District 2, Attorney Cora Richardson-Hodge (461) easily defeated former Government minister, Jerome Roberts (295). Roberts, who had won his seat five years ago as a member of the Anguilla Progressive Party, had crossed the floor to join the AUM, a party traditionally with little support in the eastern end of the island.  

Evans McNiel Rogers (AUF) 948 had no problem dispatching off the AUM and DOVE party contenders to retain his seat in District 3: 
Sutcliffe Hodge (DOVE) 58, Elkin A. Richardson (AUM) 396, Evans McNiel Rogers (AUF) 948.

Veteran politician and leader of the Anguilla United Front, Victor Banks, is expected to be sworn in as the new chief Minister of Anguilla. In dramatic fashion, his 2010 fate was completely reversed as the electorate gave him an overwhelming majority:  Victor Banks (AUF) 1057, Evan Gumbs (AUM) 655,  George Kentish (DOVE) 28. 

On Social Media, Mr. Banks released the following statement: "Thanks to everyone for the LOVE & SUPPORT. Your dedication and belief in our team of candidates and in me as a man and your leader means everything to me. I love Anguilla and will work for you the people of Anguilla for as long as you grant me that privilege! Thank You ALL! God Bless! "

In Road North (District 5), the incumbent Mr. Edison Baird did not contest the seat, leaving it open for two new contenders who split the electorate and delivered to Mrs. Evalie Bradley (AUF) a ONE vote victory over Patrick Hanley of the AUM: Evalie A. Bradley (AUF) 394Patrick Hanley (AUM) 393 - 4 ballots were rejected. 

Hadyn Hughes, the high profile former appointed member of parliament, also a veteran politician, who headed the island's tourism in the previous administration, who is also the son of the retired Chief Minister Hubert Hughes, learned of his defeat in District 6, nearly 12 hours after the polls had closed. His 575 votes fell short of his major competition Curtis Richardson by 66  with the other two candidates, having little impact: Haydn Hughes (AUM) 575,  Clifton Niles (DOVE) 24, Curtis Richardson (AUF) 641, Statchel Warner (IND) 10.

In District 7, world class sports figure, Cricketer Cardigan Connor, a newcomer to the political arena, managed the momentous task of bringing that District into the clutches of the Anguilla United Front: Cardigan Connor (AUF) 389, Kristy A. Richardson (AUM) 313

(Graphic from Elections.ai showing the near complete sweep of the island for the Anguilla United Front and more significantly the rejection of the Green Team of the Anguilla United Movement)

Note: Election results at this point are considered unofficial.